Friday, October 15, 2010

Christopher Ward C9 Harrison watch

The people at Christopher Ward are indeed busy. They will be launching the C9 Harrison series of watches soon. The Harrison series is to celebrate the 250th anniversary of the world's first precision timepiece, the Harrison H4 Marine Chronometer created by John Harrison. There will be three watches in this series, the C9 Harrison Automatic, the C9 Harrison GMT Automatic and the C9 Harrison Chronograph Limited Edition.

All the three watches will share some basic specifications:

Case: stainless steel, 43 mm diameter, 13 mm height
Crystal: sapphire
Water resistant: 5 ATM

All the watches will feature a screw-down crown and display back where you can enjoy the view of the beautiful cote de Geneve rotor and blue screws.

The C9 Automatic is a basic three hand watch with date complication. This watch will be powered by either an ETA 2824-2 automatic movement or the Selita SW200-1 automatic movement. Both movement are of the Elabore grade. The watch will be available in a choice of black or silver dial. The watch will be serialised.

The C9 Harrison GMT Automatic is the same as the C9 Automatic but offers a true GMT function. The watch will be powered by the ETA 2893-2, also Elabore grade. The 24 hour indicator is on the watch dial, displayed in an inner ring. As with the C9 Harrison Automatic, the watch is available in a choice of black or silver dial. Again this watch will be individually serialised.

The C9 Harrison Chronograph is a Limited Edition run of 250 pieces, one for every year since Harrison's breakthrough. The watch will be powered by a modified ETA 7750 automatic movement. This watch will offer the following functionality; hours, minutes and chronograph. Again the watch is offered with either a silver or black dial. 

Photographs: Christopher Ward
For those who are interested to find out more about John Harrison and about the watches, please refer:

No comments:

Post a Comment